My First Cat…

7 Jun

Years ago I adopted a year old male cat, Mushu. Although colored like a Siamese, he was a huge block of a cat, all bone and muscle, no fat, that weighed 18 pounds. He was very social and loved to play. At that time I was just beginning to train my first Rottweiler, Greta. She went everywhere with me while Mushu stayed home. One Friday afternoon while loading the car, Mushu managed to slip out of my apartment and was gone.

Greta and I headed out-of-town while my neighbors said they would look out for him. Three weeks went by and no cat. I thought he was gone for good. I worried that something horrible had happened to him.

Then one day I came home to a note on my door. The day he slipped out of my apartment was the day he found himself a new home. He showed up on their deck, only blocks away, to join their party. Unlike their other guests he never left.

They had fallen in love with him and he seemed to have fallen in love with them too.  It turns out he had mended a big whole in their hearts that was left when their heart cat died of cancer just months before.

He stayed in his new home.  Somehow he knew they needed them more than I did.  I kind of took it personally and decided to stick with my ever faithful canine companions.  That is until now…

2 Responses to “My First Cat…”

  1. workout music September 26, 2013 at 7:16 am #

    Pretty nice post. I just stumbled upon your blog and wanted to say that I have really enjoyed browsing your blog posts.
    In any case I will be subscribing to your rss feed and I hope you
    write again very soon!

Leave a Reply

